My First TweetChat #clmooc

If you have been following my blog, you will get the sense that I have been dabbling in several new ways to learn and share knowledge.  One of the best aspects of being part of a MOOC, especially one that is focused on Connected Learning, is that I feel very comfortable trying new things.  I am relatively new at Twitter…. I have gone from Lurker to Re-Tweeter to Tweeter, and now to Collaborator through the TweetChat.  However, I felt more like a Lurker in TweetChat than a Collaborator.

Since I had never participated in a TweetChat, the first thing I realized was that it moved really fast and I could not Tweet and read at the same time.  I downloaded TweetDeck so that I could see the Timeline, Interactions, Tweet, and following the #clmooc chat simultaneously.  Worked pretty well, but it was still fast moving (thankfully the Tweets are limited to 140 characters….).  For those who could not make the Chat OR those of us who are slow readers or easily distracted, +Steph West-Puckett compiled the Make Two #clmooc chat using Storify (darn… I have yet to try this!!).

As a result of this chat, the participants decided it would be fun to Make a Stop Motion Video.    I think I’m going to try this one.

Overall, I can definitely see value in a TweetChat for learning.  Not sure how my students would feel about doing one, but I will participate in one again for MY learning.  I think there is a #flipclass TwitterChat on Mondays.  Might “poke my head in” and lurk.

For those of you interested in TweetChats, I found a list of chats here.  As you can see it covers a wide range of topics.  And here is a “How to Survive a TweetChat” survival guide.  It’s pretty funny…. and spot on.  I probably should have read this before I dove in, but I like to try something first then prepare for it.  🙂

One thought on “My First TweetChat #clmooc

  1. Terry Elliott (@telliowkuwp)

    Stephanie’s twitter chat ‘dump’ on storify is useful, but what would be even better would be for you to “curate” the chat by pulling out highlights, quotes, links, topics, etc. If you have time (and it really does take time) this is really the best way I know to really get a feel for what happened and what needs emphasis. Here is an example from last week: https://storify.com/tellio/connected-learning-mooc-first-twitterchat I would be happy to help if you are interested. We need to increase the ‘facilitator’ capacity on the clmooc and it seems the participants might want that opportunity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

