My First Blog…

I need more time.  I am pulled in different directions.  I want to collaborate more with my colleagues.  However, finding the time to do this is a daunting task.  Many of us email and text, but have little time to share ideas about what we do in the classroom.  Some of my best pedagogical practices come from sharing ideas with my colleagues.  It is my hope that through this blog, I can share current ideas found in educational journals, books, and blogs.

Here is my first link on the Flipped Classroom.  It is touted as a “magic bullet” for education.  It is founded on the constructivist theory of learning (more on that to come!!).  The Flipped instructional model moves knowledge acquisition to outside the classroom and moves engagement and collaboration into the classroom.  I conducted a pilot study in my organic chemistry class during the Spring 2012 semester.  It was a great learning experience which I plan to share.

Leave a Reply

